Best Irish FactsFacts on Ireland and the Irish



CountiesIreland is divided into 32 counties.

26 counties form the Republic of Ireland.

6 counties form Northern Ireland which is part of the United Kingdom.

The 26 counties in the Republic of Ireland are Carlow, Cavan, Clare Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow.

The 6 counties in Northern Ireland are Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, and Tyrone.

Ireland is also divided into the 4 provinces of Connacht, Leinster, Munster, and Ulster.

There are 5 counties in Connacht. Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, and Sligo.

There are 12 counties in Leinster. Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow.

There are 6 counties in Munster. Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, and Waterford.

There are 9 counties in Ulster. Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Monaghan, and Tyrone.

In the Republic of Ireland Londonderry is referred to as Derry.

The largest county is Cork.

Offaly was once known as King’s County.

Laois was once known as Queen’s County.

The smallest county is Louth.

Carlow is the second smallest county.

All counties have nicknames, mostly used in connection with their county Gaelic games teams.

Antrim is known as The Glensmen also The Saffrons,

Armagh is known as The Orchard County, and The Cathedral County.

Carlow is known as the Dolmen County, also The Barrowsiders, The Fighting Cocks, and The Scallion Eaters.

Cavan is known as The Breffni also The Lake County.

Clare is known as The Banner County.

Cork is known as The Rebel County, also The Leesiders and The Donkey “Aters”.

Donegal is known as The Hills also Tyrconnell, The O’Donnell County, The Herring Gutters, and The Forgotten County.

Down is known as The Mourne County, also The Mournemen and The Ardsmen.

Dublin is known as The Dubs, also The Liffeysiders, The Jackeens and The Jacks.

Fermanagh is known as The Maguire County, also The Lakeland County, The Lake County, The Ernesiders, and The Erne County.

Galway is known as The Tribesmen, also The Herring Chokers.

Kerry is known as The Kingdom.

Kildare is known as The Lilywhites, also The Short Grass County.

Kilkenny is known as The Cats, also The Marble County and The Noresiders.

Laois is known as The O’Moore County.

Leitrim is known as Lovely Leitrim, also The Ridge County, The Wild Rose County, and The O’Rourke County.

Limerick is known as The Treaty County, also The Shannonsiders.

Londonderry is known as The Oak Leaf County.

Longford is known as The Slashers.

Louth is known as The Wee County.

Mayo is known as The Yew County, also The Heather County, and The Maritime County.

Meath is known as The Royal County.

Monaghan is known as The Drumlin County, also The Farney.

Offaly is known as The Faithful County.

Roscommon is known as The Rossies, also The Sheepstealers.

Sligo is known as The Yeats County.

Tipperary is known as The Premier County, also Tipp and The Stonethrowers.

Tyrone is known as The O’Neill County, also The Red Hand County.

Waterford is known as The Deise County, also The Suirsiders, The Crystal County, and The Gentle County.

Westmeath is known as The Lake County.

Wexford is known as The Model County, also The Slaneysiders.

Wicklow is known as The Garden County, also The Goat Suckers.

The New York and London Gaelic games clubs are known as The Exiles.

Back to C





©2011 Best Irish Facts

按揭計算機| 買樓,上車盤,搵樓,屋苑,樓盤,地產| 租樓,租盤,二手樓| 新盤,一手樓| 豪宅| 校網| 放盤| 樓價,成交| 居屋| 貝沙灣| 美孚新邨| 嘉湖山莊| 太古城| 日出康城| 九龍站| 沙田第一城| 臻頤| 匯璽| 御半山 II or 2| OMA OMA| 樓市走勢|

邮件营销| Spread | Email Marketing 電郵推廣|

Luxury Travel| Six Senses Travel| Six Senses Zighy Bay| Vietnam Travel| Morocco Travel| Park Hyatt| Peninsula| Automatic Label Applicator| 度身訂造 旅遊| 峴港 旅遊| 芽莊 旅遊| 北海道旅遊| 越南旅遊| 杜拜旅遊| 摩洛哥旅遊| 六善| KLook| Travel 旅遊| 旅行| KUONI 勝景遊| 郵輪| Luxury| Aman| Silversea| Luxury Cruises| Six Senses| 峴港| 芽莊| Abu Dhabi| Private Tours| AmanTokyo| Amanyangyun| Cuba Private Tours| 古巴私人包團| Jetour| Amanemu| 定制旅游| 高端旅游| Luxury Travel Agency Hong Kong| 銀 海 郵輪| Tailor Made Travel| Tailor Made Trips| 豪華 旅遊|

Tomtop| Andoer| LEMFO| Anet A8| Xiaomi Roborock S50| Xiaomi M365 Scooter| MXQ PRO| MJX Bugs 5W| Hohem Isteady Pro| Hubsan H501s X4| Anet A6| Dobby Drone| ILIFE V7s| Creality Ender-3| Hubsan H501s| Hohem Gimbal| Trumpy Bear| Amazfit Bip| Hubsan H501s| Vernee T3 Pro| DJI Mavic Air| Anet A8 3d Printer Review| Populele| SONOFF| Homekit| JJPRO X5| LEMFO LEM7| Anet| Koogeek| Hubsan Drone| Wltoys| Feiyu| Zeblaze| Lixada| TomTop|

IT Support| printing labels| System Integration| Software development| label printing| QR code scanner| wms| vending machine| barcode scanner| QR code scanner| SME IT| it solution| rfid tag| rfid| rfid reader| it outsourcing| printing labels| IRLS| inventory management system| digital labelling| barcode label| Self Service Kiosk| Bar Code/QR Code Application/QR Code Scanner| It Solution Service/It Services| Automation Labelling System/Applicator/Label Printing Machine/Thermal Transfer Printer/Packing Worker/Warehouse Worker| Clinic Booking/Appointment System| Photo Inspection/Staff Management Apps| Digital Labelling/Barcode Printers| Wms/Warehouse Management System| Vending Machine| It Solution Service/It services/IT Support| Hardware Maintenance| Barcode Label| IT Talent Sourcing| IT Talent Sourcing/It Outsourcing| Rfid Tag/Reader|

banner| foamboard| backdrop| pvc| printer| label| print shop| poster| business card| postcard| print services| printing company| name card| hk print| hong kong printing| Spray painting/banner/banner price| Backdrop/Backdrop price| Easy to pull / easy to pull frame price| Banner / printing / banner printing / printing quotation| Sticker / sticker printing| Leaflet / leaflet printing| Exhibition booth| Book printing| Bannershop/ebanner/eprint| Printing|