Best Irish FactsFacts on Ireland and the Irish


Kildare is one of the twenty-six counties in the Republic of Ireland.

It is in the province of Leinster.

It has an area of approximately 655 sq miles.

It has a population of approximately 187,000 people.

It is the twenty-fourth largest county in Ireland.

The county town of Kildare is Naas.

The Irish name for Kildare is Cill Dara meaning Church of the Oak. St Brigid built her cell under an oak tree hence it is called Cill Dara, the Cell or the Church of the Oak.

Dún Ailinne near modern day Kilcullen was the seat of the King of Leinster.

Kildare was established as a county in 1297 under the Anglo-Norman Fitzgeralds.

Leinster House in Kildare Street, Dublin was built by the Fitzgerald family.

It is now the seat of the Irish Parliament.

The first Irish Parliament met in Castledermot, Co. Kildare on 18 June, 1264.

The highest point in Kildare is Cupidstown Hill, 1,243 feet.

Kildare is bordered by six counties.

These are Carlow, Dublin, Laois, Meath, Offaly, and Wicklow.

Back to K





©2011 Best Irish Facts

Luxury Travel| Six Senses Travel| Six Senses Zighy Bay| Vietnam Travel| Morocco Travel| Park Hyatt| Peninsula| Automatic Label Applicator| 度身訂造 旅遊| 峴港 旅遊| 芽莊 旅遊| 北海道旅遊| 越南旅遊| 杜拜旅遊| 摩洛哥旅遊| 六善| Spread | Email Marketing 電郵推廣| Tomtop| Andoer| LEMFO| Anet A8| Xiaomi Roborock S50| Xiaomi M365 Scooter| MXQ PRO| MJX Bugs 5W| Hohem Isteady Pro| Hubsan H501s X4| Anet A6| Dobby Drone| ILIFE V7s| Creality Ender-3| Hubsan H501s| Hohem Gimbal| KLook| Travel 旅遊| 旅行| KUONI 勝景遊| 郵輪| Luxury| Aman| Silversea| Luxury Cruises| Six Senses| 峴港| 芽莊| Abu Dhabi| Private Tours| AmanTokyo| Amanyangyun| Cuba Private Tours| 古巴私人包團|